Notifications
Clear all

Arthur Zang Cardiopad touchpad

Justine Akwanka
Topic starter
(@akwan09k01a)

Despite the fact that the business environment remains difficult in Cameroon,these young people embody a highly enthusiastic succession,read r to share their experiences.

Arthur Zang. " Turning startups into industries" 

Cardiopad: Reaching the Heart of rural communities in Africa.

He invented a cardiopad,a touchpad with applications for medical uses and manages start_up Himore medical equipment. When I set up my company in 2014, I had been working on research and development for Cardiopad for five years. The idea came about through the meeting with the cardiologist Samuel kingue in 2009. He told me about the problems he had diagnosing patients in remote areas. We work for a year on the development of the Cardiopad, which allows remote cardiograms to be conducted. I sent my project to Microsoft for the imagine Cup competition which is organized every year. This prize allowed me to receive the equipment I needed to develop my operating system then to obtain a bank loan. In 2011 I recorded a video about how the prototype of the Cardiopad works and I posted it on YouTube. There were reports in the press which was noticed by President Paul biya. He allocated me a EUR  35000grant to make the first appliances. He has been able to get loans from local banks of about EUR 50000 because of the guarantees he has. This banks also prefinance the manufacturing of the tablets,on the bases it the purchase order. Since the establishment of the company,it has been able to employ a total of 14 employees and its investment exceeds EUR 500m, which mainly comes from shareholders in the private sector of Cameroon who believe in the project. Some 300 tablets have been sold since January 2016, in Central Africa, the comoroCand even in Nepal. The company sells them to hospitals for USD 3000 each and they subsequently rent them to patients for a yearly subscription of USD 29.